Golden Lion  at the Venice Film Festival for Best Movie to “All the Beauty and the Bloodshed” by Laura Poitras, a documentary based on Nan Goldin‘s life, which also got the Smithers Foundation Award “Ambassador of Hope”.

Silver Lion – Grand Jury Prize to “Saint Omer” by Alice Diop, which covers the news story about Fabienne Kabou, woman of Senegalese descent who killed her 15 months old daughter. The movie also won Lion of the Future – “Luigi De Laurentiis” Venice Award for a Debut Film.

“Bones and All” by Luca Gudagnino got its Silver Lion for Best Director. During his speech Guadagnino decided to pay tribute to Jafar Panahi and Mohammad Rasoulof, two Iranian movie directors who recently got under arrest.

And it was exactly Jafar Panahi to win the Special Jury Prize for “Khers Nist” (No Bears).

The award for Best Screenplay goes to Martin McDonagh‘s script of “The Banshees of Inisherin”, which also got the Volpi Cup for Best Actor to Colin Farrell.

The Volpi Cup for Best Actress goes to Cate Blanchett for her performance in “Tàr”, written and directed by Todd Fields. The movie talks about Lydia Tàr, first woman conducter of the Berlin Orchestra.

Marcello Mastroianni Award for Best Young Actor or Actress goes to Taylor Russell, who starred in Luca Guadagnino’s “Bones and All”.

As part of the Orizzonti section, whose jury was chaired by Isabel Coixet and comprised of Laura Bispuri, Antonio Campos, Sofia Djama and Edouard Waintrop, “Jang-e Jahani Sevom” (World War III) by Houman Seyedi, which also got Best Actor for Moshen Tanabandeh‘s performance, while “Vera” by Tizza Covi and Rainer Frimmel got both Best Director and Best Actress Award to Vera Gemma.

Special Orizzonti Jury Prize went to “Chleb i Sól” (Bread and Salt) by Damian Kocur, while Best Screenplay was awarded to Fernando Guzzoni for his “Blanquita”.

Last but not least the Award for Best Short Film went to “Snow in September” by Lkhagvaludam Purev-Ochir, which also got Venice Short Film Nomination for the European Film Awards Award.

“Nezouh” by Soudade Kaadan won the Armani Beauty Audience Award – Orizzonti Extra and the Lanterna Magica Award.

In the scope of Venice Classics the Award for Best Documentary on Cinema went to “Fragments of Paradise” by KD Davison, a movie about the life of Lithuanian director Jonas Mekas, while the Award for Best Restored Film went to “Koroshi no Rakuin” (Branded To Kill) by Seijun Suzuki.

For Venice Immersive, “The Man Who Couldn’t Leave” by Singing Chen won Best Experience, “From the Main Square” by Pedro Harres won the Grand Jury Price and, lastly, “Eggscape” by German Heller won the Special Jury Price.

For what concerns the Collateral Awards “The Whale” by Darren Aronofsky, which marked the return of Brendan Fraser in a leading role as an overweight gay professor who is trying to reconcile with his daughter, the movie got the CinemaSarà Award, the 10th INTERFILM Award for Promoting Interreligious Dialogue, the Leoncino d’Oro Award and the “Sorriso Diverso Venezia Award” XI edition – Best Foreign Movie.

ARCA CinemaGiovani Award – Best Film of Venezia 79 was awarded to “Athena” by Romain Gavras while Best Italian Film in Venice was awarded to “Monica” by Andrea Pallaoro.

In the section Authors under 40 Award the Award for Best Director went to “Dogborn” by Isabella Carbonell and “Bĕžná Selhány – Ordinary failures” by Cristina Groşan.

Special mentions to “El akhira. La dernière reine” (The last queen) by Damien Ounouri and Adila Bendimerad; “Da li ste videli ovu ženu” (Have you seen this woman?) by Dušan Zorić e Matija Gluščević and “Blue jean” by Georgia Oakley, which was also awarded the People’s choice Award.

Brian Award – UAAR went to “The Lord of the Ants” (Il signore delle formiche) by Gianni Amelio.

“Nuclear” by Oliver Stone got the CICT Award – UNESCO “Enrico Fulchignoni” and the Fondazione Mimmo Rotella Award.

Cinema & Arts Award – Golden Musa went to “Music for black pigeons” di Jørgen Leth and Andreas Koefoed ex aequo with the aforementioned “Saint Omer” by Alice Diop, which was also awarded the Edipo Re Award.

Fondazione Fai Persona Lavoro Ambiente Award to “La syndacaliste” by Jean-Paul Salomé. Special mention (treatment of issues related to environment) to “Tant que le soleil frappe” (Beating sun) by Philippe Petit ex aequo with “Princess” by Roberto De Paolis. Special mention (treatment of issues related to work) “Janain mualaqa” (Hanging gardens) by Ahmed Yassin Al Daradji.

Fanheart3 Award – Graffetta d’Oro for Best Film to “Don’t Worry Darling” by Olivia Wilde, Nave d’Argento for Best OTP to the characters Charles Eismayer and Mario Falak in “Eismayer” by David Wagner and lastly XR Fan Experience to “Lustration” by Ryan Griffen and XR Special Mention to “Fight Back” by Celine Tricart.

FEDIC Award for Best Movie went to “Gli ultimi giorni dell’umanità” by Enrico Ghezzi e Alessandro Gagliardo. Special mention to “Ti mangio il cuore” by Pippo Mezzapesa. Special mention for Best Documentary to “Albertine where are you?” by Maria Guidone.

Prize of the International Critics (Premio FIPRESCI) to “Argentina, 1985” by Santiago Mitre.

Best Film from Orizzonti and parallel sections to “Autobiography” by Makbul Mubarak.

“Siccità” by Paolo Virzì, and its cast, got the Francesco Pasinetti Award given by the National Union of Italian Film Journalists.

Europa Cinemas Label Award went to “Dirty difficult dangerous” by Wissam Charaf.

To “Lobo e cão” by Cláudia Varejão the GDA Director’s Award.

The BNL Gruppo BNP Paribas People’s Choice Award went to “The maiden” by Graham Foy.

“White noise” by Noah Baumbach the Green Drop Award. Special mentions to “Siccità” by Paolo Virzì.

Lizzani Award – ANAC to “Chiara” by Susanna Nicchiarelli. Special mentions to “A guerra finita” by Simone Massi.

Nuovoimaie Talent Award, Nuovoimaie in collaboration with Sindacato Nazionale Giornalisti Cinematografici Italiani and Sindacato Nazionale Critici Cinematografici Italiani, for Best New Young Actor went to Leonardo Maltese for “Il signore delle formiche”. Best New Young Actress went to Margherita Mazzucco for “Chiara”.

La Pellicola d’Oro Award for Best Visual Effects went to Maurizio Corridori for “Freaks Out”, Best production director went to Barbara Busso for “Il signore delle formiche”, Best Camera Operator went to Cesare Pascarella for “Il signore delle formiche” and lastly Best Costume Tailoring went to Laura Montaldi for “Chiara”.

“Aus Meiner Haut” (Skin Deep) by Alex Schaad won the Queer Lion Award.

Leonardo Maltese was awarded also the RB Casting Award.

Iwonderfull Grand Prize went to “Eismayer” by David Wagner.

Jury special mentions “Anhell69” by Theo Montoya, which also got the Verona Film Club Award and the Mario Serandrei Award.

The Film Club Audience award went to “Margini” by Niccolò Falsetti.

In the scope of SIC@SIC 2022 the Award for Best Short Film went to “Puiet” by Lorenzo Fabbro, Best Director went to Maria Guidone with “Albertine Where Are You?” and the Award for Best Technical Contribution went to “Reginetta” by Federico Russotto.

To “Chiara” by Susanna Nicchiarelli, the SIGNIS Award – (World Catholic Association for Communication). Special Mention to “Argentina, 1985” by Santiago Mitre.

“Sorriso Diverso Venezia Award” XI edition – Best Italian Movie to “Chiara” di Susanna Nicchiarelli.

Premio Soundtrack Stars Award for best soundtrack to “Siccità”, soundtrack by Franco Piersanti. Lifetime Achievement Award to Stefano Bollani and special mention to “Sergio Leone – L’italiano Che Inventò L’america”, soundtrack by Rodrigo D’Erasmo.

Last but not least the UNIMED Award to “Bardo, Falsa Crónica De Unas Cuantas Verdades” by Alejandro González Iñárritu.

📸La Biennale