The program for the 76th edition of the Venice International Film Festival (August 28 – September 7) has been presented and Tutto Il Mio Folle Amore by Gabriele Salvatores (What’s Next Italy | MIA 2018) will be screened among the films out of competition.

Opening this year’s lineup is La Vérité (The Truth) by Kore-eda Hirokazu, with Catherine Deneuve, Juliette Binoche, and Ethan Hawke, and the thriller The Burnt Orange Heresy by Giuseppe Capotondi with Claes Bang, Elizabeth Debicki, Donald Sutherland and Mick Jagger will close the fest.

The director of Dolor y Gloria (among many others) Pedro Almodóvar and the actress Julie Andrews, known for her memorable interpretation of Mary Poppins, will receive the career award, while the Argentinian directress of The Headless Woman Lucrecia Martel will be the president of the Jury.

Among the films in competition of this 76th edition, The Joker by Todd Phillips with Joaquin Phoenix and Robert De Niro and Ad Astra by James Gray with Brad Pitt, Tommy Lee Jones, Ruth Negga, Liv Tyler and Donald Sutherland are some of the highlights. There are two Italian films amid the selected titles: Il Sindaco del Rione Sanità by Mario Martone and La Mafia non è più quella di una volta by Franco Maresco.

Out of competition, Tutto il Mio Folle Amore by Gabriele Salvatores is one of the films that has participated in the 2018 edition of What’s Next Italy on MIA, the special programme dedicated to Italian films still being elaborated or in post-production stage, which are presented during the event with a clip, an interview with the director and other with the international sales agent.

Below, some of the films on the most important categories being screened: Competition: Outside of Competition and Horizons


  • No. 7 Cherry Lane (HONG KONG) – Dir. Yonfan
  • The Laundromat (USA) – Dir. Steven Soderbergh
  • J’Accuse (FRA/ITA) – Dir. Roman Polanski
  • Joker (USA) – Dir. Todd Phillips
  • Babyteeth (AUS) – Dir. Shannon Murphy
  • Marriage Story (USA) – Dir. Noah Baumbac
  • Il Sindaco Del Rione Sanità (ITA) – Dir. Mario Martone
  • The Painted Bird (CZE/UKR/SLO) – Dir. Václav Marhoul
  • La Mafia Non È Più Quella Di Una Volta (ITA) – Dir. Franco Maresco
  • Martin Eden (ITA/FRA) – Dir. Pietro Marcello
  • Saturday Fiction (CHI) – Dir. Lou Ye
  • Ema (CHILE) – Dir. Pablo Larraín
  • Waiting For The Barbarians (ITA) – Dir. Ciro Guerra
  • Gloria Mundi (FRA/ITA) – Dir. Robert Guéndiguian
  • Ad Astra (USA) – Dir. James Gray
  • Guest Of Honour (CAN) -Dir.Atom Egoyan
  • Wasp Network (FRA/BEL) – Dir. Olivier Assayas
  • About Endlessness (SWE/GER/NOR) – Dir. Roy Andersson
  • The Perfect Candidate (SAU/GER) – Dir. Haifaa Al-Mansour
  • A Herdade (POR/FRA) – Dir. Tiago Guedes
  • The Truth (JAP/FRA) – Dir.Hirokazu Kore-eda

Out of Competition

  • Il Pianeta In Mare (ITA) – Dir. Andrea Segre
  • Citizen K (UK/USA) – Dir. Alex Gibney
  • Woman (FRA) – Dir. Yann Arthus-Bertrand, Anastasia Mikova
  • Roger Waters Us + Them (UK) – Dir. Sean Evans, Roger Waters
  • I Diari Di Angela – Noi Due Cineasti. Secondo Capitolo. (ITA) – Dir. Yervant Gianikian, Angela Ricci Lucchi
  • Citizen Rosi (ITA) – Dir. Didi Gnocchi, Carolina Rosi
  • The Kingmaker (USA) – Dir. Lauren Greenfield
  • State Funeral (NET/LIT) – Dir. Sergei Loznitsa
  • Collective (ROM/LUX) – Dir. Alexander Nanau
  • 45 Seconds Of Laughter (USA) – Dir. Tim Robbins

Special Screening 

  • No-One Left Behind (MEX) – 
Dir. Guillermo Arriaga
  • Zerozerozero – Episodes 1 & 2 (ITA) – Dir. Stefano Sollima
  • Electric Swan (FRA/GRE/ARG) – Dir. Konstantina Kotzamani
  • Irréversible – Inversion Intégrale (FRA) – Dir. Gaspar Noé
  • The New Pope – Episodes 2 & 7 (ITA/FRA/SPA) – Dir. Paolo Sorrentino
  • Never Just A Dream: Stanley Kubrick And Eyes Wide Shut (UK) – Dir. Matt Wells
  • Eyes Wide Shut (USA/UK) – Dir. Stanley Kubrick


  • Zumiriki (ITA) – Dir. Oskar Alegria
  • Pelican Blood (GER/BUL) – Dir. Katrin Gebbe
  • Bik Eneich – Un Fils (TUN/FRA/LEB/QAT) – Dir. Mehdi M. Barsaoui
  • Blanco En Blanco (SPA/CHI/FRA/GER) – Dir. Théo Court
  • My Days Of Glory (FRA) – Dir. Antoine de Bary
  • Nevia (ITA) – Dir. Nunzia di Stefano
  • Moffie (SOUTH AFR) – Dir. Oliver Hermanus
  • Hava, Maryam, Ayesha (AFG) – Dir. Sahraa Karimi
  • Rialto (IRE/UK) – Dir. Peter Mackie Burns
  • The Criminal Man (GEO/RUS) – Dir. Dmitry Mamuliya
  • Revenir (FRA) – Dir. Jessica Palud
  • Giants Being Lonely (USA) – Dir. Grear Patterson
  • Verdict (PHIL) – Dir. Raymond Ribay Gutierrez
  • Balloon (CHINA) – Dir. Pema Tseden
  • Just 6.5 (IRAN) – Dir. Saeed Rouastaee
  • Shadow Of Water (INDIA) – Dir. Sasidharan Sanal Kumar
  • Sole (ITA/POL) – Dir. Carlo Sironi
  • Madre (SPA/FRA) – Dir. Rodrigo Sorogoyen
  • Atlantis (UKR) – Dir. Valentyn Vasyanovych