The line-up of the 32nd Venice International Film Critics’ Week has been announced. The section, dedicated to the debut films, revealed an almost all female selection: among the seven films in competition, indeed, five of them are directed by women, including the Italian feature Il Cratere by Silvia Luzi and Luca Bellino.

The Critics’ Week is organized by the National Union of Italian Film Critics (SNCCI). Besides Il Cratere, the other films in competition are Drift by Helena Wittmann (Germany); The Wild Boys (Les Garçons Sauvages) by Bertrand Mandico (France); The Gulf (Körfez) by Emre Yeksan (Turkey, Germany, Greece); Sarah Plays a Werewolf (Sarah Joue un Loup Garou) by Katharina Wyss (Switzerland, Germany); Team Hurricane by Annika Berg (Denmark) and Hunting Season (Temporada da Caza) by Natalia Garagiola (Argentina, USA, Germany, France, Qatar).

The special events are Pin Cushion by Debora Haywood (United Kingdom) and another Italian film, Poison – The Land of The Fires (Veleno) by Diego Olivares.

About the international juries, the one of the International Competition (74th Venice International Film Festival) will be chaired by German actress Annette Bening and composed of Hungarian director Ildikó Enyedi (Golden Bear at the 2017 Berlin Film Festival with On Body and Soul), Mexican director and producer Michel Franco, British actress Rebecca Hall, French actress Anna Mouglalis, Italian actress Jasmine Trinca, Edgar Wright, whose Baby Driver is now in the US theatres, and Taiwanese-Hong Kong director Yonfan.

The Orizzonti Section is chaired by Italian director Gianni Amelio and composed of Iranian director Rakshan Banietemad, American director Ami Canaan Mann, screenwriter Mark Cousins, Argentinian screenwriter Andrés Duprat (author of The Distinguished Citizen), Belgian director Fien Troch (author of Home, winning film of last edition’s Orizzonti section) and French director and screenwriter Rebecca Zlotowski.

All the international juries are available for consultation on the website of the Venice International Film Festival.