Mediaset and Mediaset España are merging, thus creating MediaForEurope. The new holding will have its legal headquarters in Amsterdam. By 2023, the society will save between 100 and 110 million Euros, with a net present value of around 800 million Euros.

“The operation – we can read in a public statement – has as its final goal the creation of a pan-European group in the media and entertainment sector, with a leadership position in his own markets and with a primary position which will make it highly competitive and able to increase its range of action in other European nations”.

Why the Netherlands? Mediaset has made known that this choice “answers the necessity to find a location which is neutral and suitable for the realisation of such an ambitious project […] It is an important step towards the development of a fully integrated media society which could become a leader in the European entertainment market, both linear and non-linear. Moreover, no changesi in sight for societies which operate in Italy and in Spain for what concerns their activities and their fiscal residencies, which will remain in place.

Mediaset S.p.A. and Mediaset Espana Comunicación will merge into Mediaset Investment N.V. (DutchCo), a corporation under Dutch legislation entirely and directly controlled by Mediaset, which will be named MediaForEurope (MFE). “Following the fusion, DutchCo will be renamed MFE – MediaForEurope, and it will be the coordinator of all activities, liabilities, and other legal rapports of Mediaset and Mediaset Espana, which will thus not exist anymore as independent corporations.” September 4th, 2019 is the fixed date for both the extraordinary meeting of Mediaset stakeholders for the approval of the merger, and for the general Mediaset España meeting for the approval of the merger and of the Mediaset Espana division. Pier Silvio Berlusconi should be among the executive managers of the new MediaForEurope, along with Marco Giordani, Gina Nieri, Niccolò Querci, Stefano Sala, and Paolo Vasile. On the other hand, Marina Berlusconi, Fedele Confalonieri, and Danilo Pellegrino will be non-executive administrators.